BOOKS: “THE HATING GAME” – SALLY THORNE

Category: Fiction / Romance 

Zombies 3.5/5

 

Summary:

Debut author Sally Thorne bursts on the scene with a hilarious and sexy workplace comedy all about that thin, fine line between hate and love.

Nemesis (n.) 1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome.

                       2) A person’s undoing

                       3) Joshua Templeman

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

 

 

Comments:

Okay, so I have to start off with the basic fact that I usually do not read romance novels, because that is not my forte. So why did I read this? Honestly, I don’t know. I saw it on someone’s social media account and thought of giving it a read without researching what the book was about, which is why I never realised that it was a romance novel until I was halfway through the book. Yeah, I know, I’m such a genius.

So about the book itself, I’ll be very honest, I genuinely loved the first half of the book. I loved their sarcastic exchanges, the insults, the hate, the jealousy, just all of that. I mean, from the very beginning I did sense the tension between the two main characters and I definitely expected something to happen between them both, but I also had great expectations regarding their hatred for each other.

So I kept reading, and then came the second half which gradually began to disinterest me because things started folding out in the manner a typical romance novel does. Yes, I know, what else is one supposed to expect from a romance novel? I think it’s because I am so very used to reading books of the mystery genre that automatically my brain kept expecting some crazy twist in the story.

Every single time I read a book or watch a movie, I pray and hope for a happy ending, but for some strange reason, the ending of this book, albeit it being very happy, was very much dissatisfactory to me. Why? Maybe because of the title of the novel and the way things started out, or maybe because how it ends is not how things happen in real life. Yes, I am aware that it is a novel and endings are never like that in real life, but it just felt highly unrealistic.

But focusing on the positives, there were genuinely so many moments that just made me laugh out loud. And the wittiness is outstanding. It was definitely a good read, and I recommend this book for anyone who is a fan of the romantic genre. It was so very well written and put together, which was one of the prime reasons that I could not stop reading despite the fact that the storyline was not folding out in the manner that I would have liked to, but it did the way the author wanted to and in the end, that is all that matters.

Leave a comment